Compliance & Product Regulatory ApproVals

Welcome to 



An overview of the CE marking

One of the biggest certification markings we see on most of the Electronics and IT products is the CE marking. Under the European Union agreement all member countries have constituted back in 1992 a common law to govern the electronics product regulations. Products must be tested and certified under the:

  • EMI/EMC Directive; * Low Voltage Directive (LVD-Safety)
  • Radio Equipment Directive (RED)
  • Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS) Directive
  • Waste Electrical Electronic Equipment (WEEE) Directive

The Official Journal of the European Union

Various Standards Bodies And Committees Decide The Harmonization Of Standards. Once The Standard Is Listed In The Official Journal (OJ), This Becomes A Mandated Standard. Non OJ Listed Standards Can Also Be Used But Reports Must Be Endorsed By The Appointed Notified Bodies. Products Must Be Labelled With CE Mark And Manufacturers Must Declare Product Compliance Listing Compliance To All Relevant Directives Maintained In A Compliance Folder.

The E Mark

The E-Mark Is An EU Mark For Approved Vehicles And Vehicle Components Sold Into The EU. It Is A Type Approval Mark Given By A Certifying Authority. Such As In The United Kingdom (UK) By The Vehicle Certification Authority (VCA). Other Countries Have Different Certifying Bodies. You Cannot Self-Declare And Affix An E-Mark. The Certifying Body Will Issue An E-Marking Certificate After Inspection And Approval Of Compliance. The Directive For E-Marking Is The “Commission Directive 2004/104/EC, Of 14 October 2004. – Adapting To Technical Progress Council Directive 72/245/EEC Relating To The Radio Interference (Electromagnetic Compatibility) Of Vehicles And Amending Directive 70/156/EEC On The Approximation Of The Laws Of The Member States Relating To The Type-Approval Of Motor Vehicles And Their Trailers”. You Cannot Self-Declare Compliance To 2004/104/EC. The E-Mark Is A United Nations Mark For Approved Vehicles And Vehicle Components Sold Into The EU. And In Some Other Countries Under UN-ECE Regulation 10. EU Certification (Referred To As EC), The E-Mark: E-Mark Is Based On EU Directive And Is A Safety Certification Mark. Which The European Commission Requires That Member States Apply It On A Motor Vehicle, Parts And Systems. The E-Mark Logo Is A Rectangular Frame. The Number Is The EU Country Or State Number That Granted The Approval. If One State Grants Approval Then It Is Deemed Sufficient For All Other Member States.
The country/state codes are as follows:

e1 – Germany, e2 – France, e3 – Italy, e4 – Netherlands, e5 – Sweden, e6 – Belgium, e7 – Hungary, e8 – Czech republic, e9 – Spain, e11 – United Kingdom, e12 – Austria, e13 – Luxembourg, e17 – Finland, e18 – Denmark, e19 – Romania, e20 – Poland, e21 – Portugal, e23 – Greece, e24 – Ireland, e26 – Slovenia, e27 – Slovakia, e29 – Estonia, e32 – Latvia, e34 – Bulgaria, e36 – Lithuania, e49 – South Cyprus, e50 – Malta.

Unlock Global Market Access for Your Electronic Products

Get your electronic products certified in countries worldwide with our comprehensive certification solutions

Praveen Rao

CEO & Technical Director, C-PRAV Group: Australia, New Zealand, India & Canada 

C-PRAV Labs & Certifications 

Professional engineering experience of 30+ years with technical and managerial skills obtained from professional degree, courses, and hands-on experience, while working with organizations and companies involved in Design & Development, Testing, Inspection, Certification and Compliance (TICC). 

Management of electrical/electronic products & systems Testing and Certifications for Global markets in Consumer, Industrial, IT, Telecom, Defence, Medical, and Automotive Industries. Overall advisory for Standards, Regulations, Testing and Certifications for Global Market Access (GMA). 

  • ISO/IEC 17025 Lab Quality Management 
  • NATA Authorised Signatory (1995 to 2000) for EMC Testing 
  • NATA & IANZ Authorised Technical Assessor (current)
  • EMI/EMC, RF/Wireless, EMR-RF Exposure/SAR 
  • NATA Technical Assessors Advisory Committee (current) 
  • Current Chair of Australian EMC National Standards Committee 
  • Member of Australian National standards committees for Safety, Radio, RF Exp/SAR 
  • Represent Australia in International Standards committees like IEC, CISPR, IEEE 
  • Member of Telecommunications Certification Body Council, USA and European REDCA